Other City-related Boards


The City of Santa Maria has representation on other regional governmental boards. To get more information about these boards, their agendas and minutes, please click on the respective links below:

Central Coast Water Authority (CCWA)

The CCWA is a cooperative group of local water agencies and cities, formed to construct, manage and operate Santa Barbara County's "local facilities" for distribution and treatment of State water. CCWA is presently composed of eight members, all of which are public agencies. Each member appoints a representative to the Authority's Board of Directors. Each vote on the CCWA Board of Directors is weighted in proportion to the entity's allocation of State water entitlement. The City of Santa Maria has the largest entitlement at 43.19 percent.

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District (APCD)

The Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District (APCD) is a local government agency that works to protect the people and the environment of Santa Barbara County from harmful effects of air pollution. The APCD Board consists of each of the five county supervisors plus a city council member or mayor from each of the County's seven cities. The Board meets monthly at locations throughout the County and is sometimes advised by the Community Advisory Council.

Santa Barbara County Association of Governments (SBCAG)

SBCAG is responsible for all regional transportation planning within Santa Barbara County, including identifying and funding major infrastructure improvements, determining transit needs, creating and updating bicycle and pedestrian master plans, determining the feasibility of and planning for enhancements to the passenger rail system, and developing and implementing ongoing efforts to reduce traffic congestion throughout the region.

Santa Barbara County Housing Advisory Committee

(agendas & minutes not online)

Santa Barbara County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)

LAFCO is a regulatory agency charged by the State legislature with "discouraging urban sprawl and encouraging the orderly formation and development of local agencies" based on "local circumstances and conditions."

Santa Barbara County Multi-Jurisdictional Task Group

The Multi-Jurisdictional Task Group was established in June, 2001 by the County Board of Supervisors and the Santa Barbara City Council. The Task Group grew to include elected officials from each jurisdiction in the County of Santa Barbara, as well as a representative from the Sanitary Districts. The Task Group is designed to provide the communities within Santa Barbara County with a forum to discuss and plan long-term solid waste management strategies and facilities.